Skip to content Skip to navigation

Allison Perry

Allison Perry

Portrait of Allison Perry


Urban Studies is my: minor

Why I'm majoring (or minoring) in Urban Studies: I believe urban spaces are only going to become more important in the future as more and more of the world's population lives there. I want to explore the problems and solutions that are created in these densely-populated spaces. For example, how can they be made more livable, sustainable, and equitable?

What I like best about Urban Studies: Urban studies as a department is very accommodating and welcoming. They want to help you explore your interests whether are a major, minor, or just want to take a few courses.

Favorite class / professor (and why): My favorite class so far has been Psych 1 with James Gross and Bridgette Hard. The class was not only well-taught (which makes it very popular), but the material also confirmed my interest in the social sciences. The course included guest speakers and studies from outside North America, which ensured a diversity of perspectives and a great learning experience.

Favorite book (and why): Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage by Haruki Murakami. Not only does the hardback have an awesome cover, the story inside is an intriguing story of an unresolved conflict that tempts the equally-mysterious protagonist to dig up the past. It also has the flowing, smooth style that I love in Murakami's work.

Career goal / Future plans: My career goal is to become an urban/community planner and use my anthropology and urban studies background to help create cities that cater to the diverse spectrum of people who live there.

Honors Thesis or other research project: My honors thesis through the department of anthropology is entitled: "How do Community Gardens Live Up to Their Name? An Examination of Perceptions and Practices of Seattle Gardeners." In this project I hope to explore the social aspects of communal spaces within community gardens, including how people interact, what relationships they form, and how these experiences inform their perception of their community.

Other academic interests (major, minors): Anthropology (major), Spanish (minor)

Extracurriculars: Stanford Food Project, Fossil Free Stanford, Stanford women's basketball student manager

Something else you should know about me: I was introduced to city living when I studied abroad in Santiago, Chile my sophomore year at Stanford.